Nitrous Oxide/Oxygen Sedation for the Dental Hygienist and Registered Dental Assistant

Date

Friday, August 16, 2013

Presenters

Margie Coleman, RDH, BS

Walter Lim, DDM, MSD, DDS

Claudine Sordyl, RN, MS

Course Overview

This course is designed to prepare the dental hygienist to safely administer and monitor nitrous oxide/oxygen sedation for dental patients in compliance with the educational requirements specified by Michigan law. Participants will learn this pain control strategy through online self-study, lecture, and demonstrations.

RDAs:
This course is designed to prepare the dental assistant to safely assist and monitor nitrous oxide/oxygen sedation for dental patients in compliance with the educational requirements specified by Michigan law. Participants will learn this pain control strategy through online self-study, lecture, and demonstrations.

Prerequisites:

  • A personal copy of Handbook of Nitrous Oxide Sedation by Morris and Brunick, third edition (ISBN # 0-323-01977-3)
  • Completion of online study
  • Current Registered Dental Hygienist license (current RDA license for dental assistants)
  • Current Health Care Provider CPR certification

Course Objectives

At the completion of the course participants will be able to:

  • Explain the rationale and basic principles of nitrous oxide sedation in pain and anxiety control and as an adjunct to local anesthesia
  • Identify and apply medical and dental history considerations
  • Assess and monitor patients for nitrous oxide analgesia
  • Understand nitrous oxide pharmacology, physical properties, and armamentarium
  • Manage complications/medical emergencies of nitrous oxide
  • Understand the levels of sedation
  • Utilize proper nitrous oxide monitoring technique
  • Realize biohazard concerns and scavenging systems
  • Understand Michigan law
  • Be aware of abuse potential

Location

UDM School of Dentistry Corktown Campus, Detroit, MI
[Click here for directions]

Tuition

Includes continental breakfast and lunch
Registered Dental Hygienist/ Registered Nurse - $295
Dentist/Physician/Physician Assistant - $450
Registered Dental Assistants - $205
UDM Alumni: Registered Dental Hygienist/ Registered Nurse - $265.50
UDM Alumni: Dentist/Physician/Physician Assistant - $405
UDM Alumni: Registered Dental Assistants - $184.50

If you choose to pay for a continuing education course by check, please note that the check must be received by UDM within ten (10) days of registration. If the check is not received within ten (10) days of registration, we will assume that you are no longer interested in the course and will remove you from the course roster and you will forfeit your held seat. If you register less than ten (10) days prior to the start of a course, payment will be accepted up to the course start time. If additional time is required, please contact 313-494-6626 prior to registering to make a payment arrangement.

Times

RDH (RN/DDS/DMD/MD/PAs):
Registration - 7:30 a.m.; Lecture - 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Laboratory Session - 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

RDAs:
Registration - 7:30 a.m.; Lecture - 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Laboratory Session - 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

CDE Credits

RDH: 9 hours (Lecture, Clinical, and Online); RDA: 6 hours (Lecture, Clinical, and Online)

Participants should register at least 4 weeks before the course to ensure successful completion. The online study should be completed prior to the lecture sessions. If you are pregnant please register to take the course after your delivery.

This RDH course is approved by the Michigan Department of Consumer and Industry, approval #2004DHN005.

Limited attendance, register early!

Registration Policy

For your convenience you may register up until 3:00 p.m. on the day prior to the start of the course with no additional charge. An additional non-refundable fee of $20 dollars per person, per course will be assessed to any registrations received after 3:00 p.m. the day prior to a course or to any same day or walk in registrations.

Refund and Cancellation Policy

Unless otherwise posted, a full refund less $25 will be granted if notification of cancellation is received by the Institute for Advanced Continuing Dental Education office two weeks (14 or more days) prior to the start of the course. If a cancellation is received less than two weeks (13 or less days) prior to the start of a lecture only course, a full refund less $100 will be granted. If a cancellation is received less than two weeks (13 or less days) prior to the start of a hands-on course, no refund will be granted. Refunds cannot be given for same any day cancellations or no-shows.

Click here to visit our updated general information and policy page.
 

In order to participate in this online course, you will need access to a computer with an internet connection and Microsoft Office 2003 (or later version).











Powered by ABCSignup.com